Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

New School Shoes

on September 10, 2013

Our first day of school was last week in our province. As I was sitting at the front of the room, waiting patiently for my kindergarten students to finish putting on their shoes for the morning, I was amused by the utter newness this whole event was for these young ones. I had just told one little boy that his shoes were on the wrong feet and that he might be more comfortable if he switched the shoes. He basically just looked at me and smiled, as if to say, “You’re crazy, lady,” but in a very respectful way, yet did nothing about his own shoes. Then in less than 30 seconds, he turned around and told his fellow student, who had the same shoe placement issue, that his shoes were on the wrong feet.

This immediately reminded me of the verses found in Matthew 7:3-4 that read, “And why worry about a speck in your friend’s eye, when you have a log in your own? How can you think of saying to your friend, ‘Let me help you get rid of that speck in your eye,’ when you can’t see past the log in your own eye?”

Oh, how many times do I need to be reminded of this? Parenting can humble a person beyond their comfort zone every single day. And if we are perfectly honest with ourselves, so can marriage, as well as relationships with co-workers, family and friends. But yet, so many times, I choose to comfortably keep that log in my own eye, one that should have been chopped, split, ranked and ready for firewood long ago. Just like that shoe placed so awkwardly on the wrong foot of a five year old.

God help me each and every day to be like that second student who did go and change his sneakers. Help me to clear the path growing up in my own eyes, before my vision and heart grow dim.

20130910-180832.jpg

2 responses to “New School Shoes

  1. Lori Murphy says:

    I used this for family devotions tonight. Thank you for sharing your heart!

Leave a Reply

