Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

If we would only listen

on October 8, 2013

So tonight my husband called me from work. He was working on his schedule and our family calendar, and trying to nail down a few more details for the end of our week. The following are the highlights from our conversation.

Me: I’m taking grad pictures of Bethany in (insert village name) on Thursday. I will leave school at 3 and take (insert road name) to get there.
Husband: (He continues to discuss week’s plans.)
Me: Can you vacuum and mop the floor on Thursday (as we are having company that night)? I won’t be home until close to 7, so I won’t be able to do it.
Husband: Yes, I could do that. Where are you going to be?
Me: (Realizing he doesn’t have a clue, and wasn’t paying attention to me when I first told him, I ask him the following.) Where did I say I was going? I was taking the (insert road name) there.
Husband: I am filling in our calendar. I need to know.
Me: (Insert lightbulb moment, when I then realize that I am going to return the favour for all of the times he accused me of not listening, BUT I really was.) Where do you think I’m going?
Husband: You need to tell me.
Me: No, you need to figure it out.
Husband: (Tries to figure it out, ok, more like begging for me to tell him.) Your lover’s?
Me: No, but I could have said that and you wouldn’t have heard me.
Husband: Yes, you could have (Insert laughter from both ends of the phone.). Tell me.
Me: No.
Husband: (More begging ensues.)
Me: No.
Husband: You need to tell me, I’m trying to figure out our schedule. Is it PD (professional development) for school?
Me: No.
Husband: Fall foliage tour?
Me: No.
Husband: You’re going to (insert name of local lake).
Me: No, but you’re getting closer. (Gives slight hint.)
Husband: (Somewhere from the recesses of his memory, or perhaps The Lord Himself speaking to him directly, he answers very slowly, as if to verify each detail.) You’re taking pictures…of Bethany…at (insert name of village) and you’ll be home by 7.
Me: Well, yes, that’s it. Ok, I might be home before 7 because it will be dark by then.

Hmmm, 15 minutes of pure entertainment for me. And yes, I know, I had better keep my listening ears on now at all times. In the meantime, hopefully he remembers he needs to vacuum and mop for Thursday night.

3 responses to “If we would only listen

  1. Julie says:

    Has he subscribed to your blog yet? Because for his sake I hope he has but for our sakes I hope not!! These stories are hilarious!

  2. Christy says:

    He has subscribed now, and fortunately he’s a good sport about it. We had a good laugh about this one!

  3. Krista says:

    too funny but oh so true!!

Leave a Reply

