Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

Thanksgiving Thankfulness Edition 2013

on October 13, 2013

With Canadians celebrating Thanksgiving this weekend, I thought I would share with you the things that I am most thankful for at this very moment. They are in no particular order…at all.

1. I am thankful that God created us to rest at the end of the day. I love to sleep, but unfortunately I do not get enough of it. I’m far enough from my teen years, or for that fact, my pre-children days, that any extra sleep I had in my bank has been used up. I’m currently running on credit and hope my children like to sleep in when they are teens themselves, so that I can sleep in then as well. Of course by then, I’ll probably suffer from chronic insomnia.
2. I am thankful for my job. I am very thankful that I love it and that I don’t have to travel very far to get to it.
3. I am thankful for my husband and my girls. At some point around 4:55 pm, I am not incredibly thankful, but by 5:00, when supper is on the table and all moods have been stabilized, I’m back to being thankful. I love them and want to be the best mom and wife I can be for them.
4. I am thankful that my husband is almost done with his schooling. It has been a long, er, well, very long 26 months, but by the end of this month, it should be completed. I am also thankful that I have not recently fallen and hit my head on a cement block and think that I would like to go back to school. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to go back some day, I just think we need a rest from schooling (tuition).
5. I am thankful that our mortgage was up for renewal this year and the rates were down considerably since we started this mortgage. I probably should be thankful that our banker is more reasonable than I am, and does not share my philosophy that winning the lottery is a good sound financial retirement plan. Of course, part of my problem may be that I don’t actually play the lottery, knowing full well that I will win the first time, and I’m not sure we’re ready for the drastic lifestyle change just yet.
6. I am thankful for this beautiful province in which I live (NB). I love living here and have all intentions of living here forever.
7. I am thankful for our church. I look forward to going each week and enjoy it immensely. I think one of my favourite parts of the week are on Sunday mornings.
8. I am thankful that there are people who cook much better than I do and they make sure I am fed every Thanksgiving Day.

There you have it. This is my 2013 edition of Thanksgiving Thankfulness.

Leave a Reply

