Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

Photoshop me

on December 2, 2013

Lately I have been editing a number of photos that I had taken this fall. Photoshop is my friend. What doesn’t appear to be just perfect in my eye is edited. A little tweak here, a little adjustment there and everything is right.

Isn’t editing great? We see the photoshopped versions of ourselves and others all of the time. We look at our houses, jobs, community involvement, outward appearances. The pretty version of ourselves. The Christy 40+ version.

We relocate, upgrade, build, renovate, paint, makeover, dress up.
We moisturize, accessorize, exfoliate, tweeze, scrub, scour, enhance.
We mask, cover, tear down, update, advance, elevate, modernize, discard, polish.

But what happens when the photoshop of our lives fails? It doesn’t compute the “necessary” changes. Everything is stripped away and we look into our homes, medicine cabinets, cosmetic bags, thoughts, and hearts. Completely unedited.

I can take a picture of you and edit the picture. Fix that picture, that image, that piece of paper. I can take away that blemish, change your shirt colour and make everything around you appear clearer…on a screen, on paper.

But I can’t fix you. Whatever is broken inside you, I can’t touch. I can only give suggestions, offer a listening ear, and pray with you and for you.

But I know someone who can. No photoshopping involved. Let Him renew, rejuvenate, and restore you. He’s much better at editing and refining.

6 responses to “Photoshop me

  1. Krista says:

    Well said!

  2. Trish says:

    Beautifully written, Christie!!

  3. Lori Murphy says:

    Words are so powerful. The words you write are so inspiring and thought provoking and helpful to me. Thank you Christy!

Leave a Reply

