Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

New Years Resolutions

on January 1, 2014

October 2013-December 2013 214 HNY A couple of days ago, I shared with you my One Word for the year. Normally I think the One Word is supposed to replace a number of different resolutions, but I always like to jot down a few for the new year. Sometimes they take (I do them), sometimes they don’t (I completely ignore them).

The last couple of years, I have actually posted my resolutions to my Facebook profile page. Some of them were serious and some of them reflected my less than serious side. Last year I know I had posted a list, but I cannot for the life of me, find them on there, so apparently my standards were set pretty low for the year. So here in true Christy fashion, I will let you in on my new list for 2014. In no particular order of importance, here they are.

1) My family has a membership to our local pool and gym. And now I have a swimsuit. I need to make sure that said swimsuit still fits after my husband put it through the dryer. Oh, and then after that, go to the pool and swim forwards and backwards. Many times. Many days. For the rest of my life.
2) Use social media less while my children are awake. If this means I have to watch more reruns of Scooby Do on Netflix, I may take this resolution back. On the other hand, I may become a Monopoly expert this year.
3) Without announcing the upcoming birth of my next child or marriage, I would like to have more than 31 people like a random status of mine on Facebook. Since those two announcements are highly unlikely, I could have my work cut out for me. Let’s see if my next “I just ate chocolate ice cream” status warrants more than 31 likes. 😉
4) Eat more vegetables. And less of everything else. Then maybe I could make the random Facebook status update “I just ate kale and didn’t throw up.” I can see over 50 likes with that one.
5) Floss my teeth daily. And maybe even use one of those poisonous mouthwashes on a regular basis. My hygienist was led to believe by someone (cough, cough) that I floss every day. I used to be really good at this, but you know how it goes.
6) I would love to not have a root canal this year. Yeah, I suppose I’ve never had one, but why make this the year to start?
7) Read more. Books, blogs, bathroom walls, whatever.
8) Clean off my dresser more often and organize it better. This one was on last year’s list. I think I did this one a couple of times last year. Maybe my list is on my dresser somewhere. Or it’s in my closet. Which I also need to clean out. My skeletons in there come in the form of outdated and frumpy clothes. I need a serious closet intervention.
9) Get my passport. So I can sit at home and at least think about travelling to places far, far away. Like Maine.
10) Clean out my basement. This will not be on the same day as the dresser or closet cleaning. Maybe not even in the same week or month.
11) Have more than 54 people subscribe to and read my blog. Maybe even 60 people. I need to interact more online with other bloggers. Of course, while my children are sleeping soundly.
12) Read my Bible through. I got one of those read-the-Bible-in-a-year books the other day. That’s a start. If I’m still reading Exodus in May, I might be in trouble though.
13) Have my husband clean the shower more often this year. He’s really good at it. I’ll be too busy reading and getting my passport.
14) Take advantage of every Shoppers Drug Mart 20x the points Saturdays. There’s a certain kind of inner peace one can obtain from purchasing the equivalent of 100 rolls of toilet paper at one time. The same kind of inner peace one feels when there are the equivalent of 300 rolls in your stockpile. The neighbours might not be able to borrow a cup of sugar or an egg from me, but if they need toilet paper, I’m their girl.
15) Recognizing better when to speak up and shut up. James 1:19 puts it far more eloquently (You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry.).

So there you have it folks. Another set of resolutions. In fact, more resolutions than months in the year. Again, perhaps I have bitten off more than I can chew in a figuratively way. Goodness knows, I have literally…thus Resolution #4 and kale.

One response to “New Years Resolutions

  1. […] friend, Christy, wrote on her blog https://terrishoyt.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/new-years-resolutions/ the other day about how her pastor challenged her to take a word for one year, focus on it and […]

Leave a Reply

