Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

Five Minute Friday: Encouragement

on January 17, 2014

Encouragement.

I can’t say it’s something that I am particularly good at. I struggle with it. A nice, pat word of encouragement here, there, on occasion. But, what can I say? How can I bring real comfort? A word of meaningful advice? Hope?

My daughters receive daily encouragement from me. But more often than not, I’m encouraging them to hurry up, settle down, do homework, eat your vegetables, get some sleep. Encouragement, or rather discouragement. Ugh.

And yet, over our doorway, there is a sign that says, “challenge, inspire, encourage.” Did I do this today?

When someone encourages me though, their words bring me peace, strength, and the knowledge that someone is in my court, on my side, by my side.

Wait. Maybe my presence can be a simple encouragement to others. When my words fail. When my tongue quiets.

God, help me to be an encourager to others.

Today I have joined up with Lisa-Jo Baker for her Five Minute Friday. This is where a group of bloggers get together and write on one word for 5 minutes. No editing or over thinking, just simple writing for 5 minutes and seeing what happens. Our word for this week has been: Encouragement.

9 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Encouragement

  1. Iris Porter says:

    Appreciate receiving your work. A good challenge with some and some good humor with others. Keep up the good work!!

  2. Hey there! You are so right, I really believe sometimes our presence is the biggest encouragement. Just to know that we are not walking alone is so encouraging. Thanks for sharing, I love your post!

  3. joining you in that prayer ~

  4. Colline says:

    A Perfect prayer as it is in encouraging others that we can help the to blossom.

  5. You encouraged me today. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

