Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

Missing My Mom

on January 19, 2014

20140119-093002.jpg

It’s 13 years ago today that we lost my mother. She was 53, the age I will be in 11 years. Not old, at all. My sisters and I were all in our twenties when she died. We should have been in our sixties. Isn’t that how life is supposed to work?

My mom taught me many things while we were on this earth together…
Education is very important. If the opportunity arises to further your education, seize it. And if the school is open, you had better be in your chair paying attention to the teacher.
Work hard and don’t be lazy. Take pride in your work.
Take time to relax each evening and read.
Pay your bills. Your kids don’t need to know what your paycheque is, but they can see you paying the bills.
Look for the sales. And if there is a limit on how many Pepsi you can buy, give your children a couple dollars and let them go through the line as well.
Set aside money for your children’s education. Encourage them to get summer jobs and save their money for their education.
Use a clothesline.
If someone else in the house enjoys cooking more than you do, allow them free reign in the kitchen.
Give your children responsibilities around the house. If they don’t do them, remind them that they won’t want to “forget” them again by taking away their technology (back in our day, this meant the television).
Look out for your sister. If you’re on a walk with your younger sister and she looks like she is going to walk out onto the road, push her back over and sit on her (which I fortunately never had to do).
Send your children outside to play (on a side note to this, if you haven’t seen them for an hour or two, you might want to check to make sure they haven’t locked themselves in the barn).
Learn to drive a stick shift.
Clothes from your local department store can do the same job as brand name clothes, just for a lot cheaper.
Humour is a good thing.
Don’t fight in front of your children.
Don’t treat your children like they are your friends or your peers. Because they’re not. And have adult conversations with other adults, not your children.
Take time for a cup of tea. And teach your children how much milk you like in your tea, so they can make it for you.
Eat supper together.
Your relationship with God doesn’t have to be all show and tell. He knows your heart.
Let your children learn to make their own breakfast. It doesn’t have to be fancy.
Serve supper to your children first. Then they won’t notice that you “accidentally” ran out of carrots when you go to make up your own supper plate.
Friends are important. Keep in touch with them. Call, write letters, visit.
Respect your parents.
Take Sunday afternoon drives just because.
(Proverbs 22:6)

I love my mom. I miss her. I wish you all could have met her. And for those of you who did, you met one amazing woman.

Unfortunately, my mom never got to meet my girls. It’s days like today, I feel some pangs of regret that we didn’t start our family a little earlier. But maybe, just maybe, I can pass on to them some of these things that she has taught me.

13 responses to “Missing My Mom

  1. Krista says:

    Thinking of you all today! Great writing and memories to have!

  2. Trish says:

    What a wonderful tribute and so many nuggets of truth. I’m guessing your sense of humor came from your mama!
    Thinking of you and your family today, Christy!

  3. Mariela says:

    Thanks for sharing this Christy! I did not meet your mom but I can totally see you have learned well her lessons. Smile because I think she will be honoured if she could read this 🙂

  4. Marlene says:

    I remember that picture being taken like it was yesterday. She was one of the kindest, most compassionate people I’ve ever known. You girls were lucky to have her as a mom!

  5. Sherry Vautour says:

    Good read! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Awe, this is wonderful. What great lessons she taught you and that you can pass on to your girls. She was a wonderful lady!

  7. Wonderful post! I’m sorry for your loss-

  8. Christy says:

    Thank you all for your wonderful comments. My mom was a great mom, and we were definitely very fortunate to have her in our lives.

  9. Linda Hicks says:

    That says it all !!!!

  10. Krista says:

    Well spoken. Wonderful memories!

  11. Marlene says:

    She would have loved being a grandmother and would have been the best one ever.

  12. Chandra says:

    I loved reading this post. You are a great writer and as I am reading it I can just picture you mom saying all of these things. She was a beautiful person ❤

Leave a Reply

