Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

Five Minute Friday: Paint

on April 11, 2014

It had been one of those weeks. The kind that lasts longer than the regular 7 days. It was supposed to be an easier week than the week prior, but somehow life got in the way of that. Exhaustion came quickly. Regrets surfaced. Lost grip on peace.

I was never a worrier growing up, but somewhere down the road, I acquired it on like a piece of luggage, strapped to my wrist in a bustling airport.

I made poor decisions. Exaggerated wrongs in my mind. Didn’t sleep enough. No renewal. Good choices and deeds crowded out by the uneasiness of mistakes.

And then in order to clean up the week, pack it away and settle into a more restful time, I looked around the room. There in the corner were the paint brushes left soaking in the water, forgotten after a tiring day. I took them out of their container, and washed the paint out of them, running the water through their hardened, little bristles. Softening them up, cleaning off the residue of the week, and ready to use for another day.

Tomorrow is a new day though. A time to refresh, renew, rest, and then take my paintbrushes and create a new beginning.

Today I linked up with Lisa Jo Baker for another Five Minute Friday. The theme today was Paint.

6 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Paint

  1. Patty says:

    Do you paint? I loved your description of the bristles. I have often done that. It is soothing to take them and make them clean and soft again. I love that you have weeks like me. It makes me feel a little less alone. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • Christy says:

      I don’t actually paint, but I teach kindergarten and the students are given opportunities throughout the week to paint. It can be very messy, but it has been neat to see their progress since the beginning of the year. Thank you for stopping by.

  2. sarahjmcb says:

    Oh wow, what an analogy. I was reading, thinking, what is this leading up to? How does this relate to paint? I enjoyed it very much! You’re right. We wash off the week and start fresh 🙂

  3. Amber says:

    “Tomorrow is a new day though. A time to refresh, renew, rest, and then take my paintbrushes and create a new beginning.” I love this, so much. The crusty paintbrushes being rinsed, softened, coming clean, ready for the next day… such a fitting, lovely analogy. Thank God for new days and paints.

Leave a Reply

