Did I say that out loud?

Thoughts and musings of a mom

Five Minute Friday: Exhale

on July 4, 2014

This week I am linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for another Five Minute Friday. Our topic today is Exhale.

………………
All week I have thought about my daughter being away at her first week of overnight camp. We haven’t had any contact with her throughout this week, and so I keep wondering how she is doing. It’s been strange having only one child at home when I am so familiar with the two of them in a balancing act of creating chaos.

All week I’ve been wondering, curious, at times fearful, anxious, wanting to be a fly on the wall, waiting, waiting, waiting. Yet knowing that she will be fine, fall in love with her experience, and want to go again long before next summer arrives on our calendar.

But I will exhale when I have her wrapped in my arms, being able to touch her, smell her, hear her again. Have her with me.

And she will exhale, as she excitedly shares her week with me, before drifting off to sleep, reliving her week in her dreams.

2 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Exhale

  1. Christine says:

    Following you from FMF. My youngest (8) just went camp for the first time a couple of weeks ago. My oldest 2 are counselors, so she wasn’t quite by herself, but it was the first time she was away from us for more than an overnight with grandparents. We had the quiet one at home with us that week, Very odd for a house usually filled with chaos, lol.

    That hug will sure feel good! Have a wonderful day!

    • Christy says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I’m counting the hours until I can pick her up, but in the meantime, I should be cleaning out her room, so she can actually plunk herself into bed tonight.

Leave a Reply

